Dot teens shine in Warren All-Star Classic

Former School Committee member Alfreda Harris at the Dr. Joseph D. Warren Memorial Basketball All-Star Classic, speaking with Fenway High All-Star Shania Tarver, CASH High All-Star Luisa Dasilva and Managing Dir. of Pgm Svce Lisa Fortenberry

Boston’s best and brightest high school players were in the spotlight at the Dr. Joseph D. Warren Memorial Basketball All-Star Classic at Northeastern University’s Cabot Center last weekend. The All-Star Classic is presented by Scholar Athletes, the nonprofit organization founded by Suffolk Construction Chairman & CEO John Fish to support achievement through athletics and reduce the opportunity gap for urban high school students.

The girls game was played first, with the South team being the North 51-43. The boys game saw the North squad beat the South team 100-83.

Scholar Athletes organizes the event in partnership with Boston Public Schools (BPS), Boston Parks and Recreation Department and Northeastern University. The All-Star Classic engages student-athletes, parents, families and community stakeholders who come together to recognize BPS’ top basketball talent.

Newton Mayor Setti Warren presented the Joseph D. Warren Sportsmanship Award -named after his father – to several deserving students. Longtime Boston School Committee member Alfreda Harris presented the Alfreda Harris Award to coaches Katrina Jackson of Charlestown High and Sean Ryan of Burke High for efforts to keep players focused in school.


Subscribe to the Dorchester Reporter